Typos

You may or may not have seen my post at Punctuality Rules, Tuesday, about a book I recently bought that had the actual TITLE misspelled on the spine of the book. A glaring typographical error that really (really!) should have been caught. So, using that as a springboard, today’s question: What’s the worst typographical error you’ve ever found in (or on) a book?

The Booking through Thursday question about typos this week is quite timely, as I came across one recently, in Thomas Hardy: the Time-torn Man by Claire Tomalin. It is at the top of page 180, merges two words ‘…but when Jefferiesstablished his striking study ….’ and I had to double-take – had I just read that properly?! I often come across a few, usually minor, spelling typos when reading, but I’m quite surprised that this one was missed.

5 responses to “Typos”

  1. That’s funny. My answer also had to do with Thomas Hardy. I have a copy of Tess of the d’Ubervilles (leaving out the first r).

  2. That’s a good one! Poor Thomas Hardy 🙂

    Happy BTT!

  3. Thank you for your comments, Matthew and superfastreader.
    Matthew, I doubt that I would have noticed that lost ‘r’ in d’Ubervilles on the cover, either, being far too eager to read the contents beyond that.
    superfastreader, I’m always stopped dead by typos, misspellings and errors in the text, too. It slightly ruins the enjoyment of the flow of a good book, when I have to stop because something jars.

  4. I think I’d pick this one as the oddest typo. For £230 I’d wouldn’t expect to find a typo on the front cover.

Leave a comment