Childhood reading

A bit late [I’ve been away] but here’s the Booking Through Thursday question and my answer:

Would you say that you read about the same amount now as when you were younger? More? Less? Why?


I read more now than I used to, mainly because, when researching, I go through a lot of background material, excavation reports, etc. As for pleasure reading, I also suspect that I read more now than I did when I was younger. Although I’m often surprised when I see classic children’s books and think, ‘I’ve read that!…and that…and that one, too!’, because I do not think of myself as an avid child reader. However, my memories of childhood reading often do take me back to a specific place when I was reading a particular book. I was so enthralled by The Hobbit, for instance, that I remember sitting on the settee, with my mother hoovering under my raised feet because I did not want to move or put the book down for one second!

This entry was posted in Books.

2 comments on “Childhood reading

  1. lisamm says:

    It’s funny how you can remember things like that about where you were while reading a particular book. I remember reading The Secret Garden at my grandma’s house, sitting on her white chenille bedspread, when I was 10 or 11.

  2. saesferd says:

    Thanks for your comment lisamm. Yes, these days, sometimes, I can’t remember why I went into a particular room of the house, but I can remember minute, childhood details associated with reading a particular book. The Secret Garden was certainly one of my favourite books……still is!

Leave a Reply

