Cable knitting

Yarn Harlot’s latest blog post Please pass the Tissues in which she explains her difficulties when following cable pattern wording, is currently quite apt for my situation with knitting. At the moment I’m  making cabled socks from Viking Patterns for Knitting by Elsebeth Lavold, using a chart for the very  first time and finding it difficult, because I’m used to following worded patterns, or creating the cable by eye. Yarn Harlot had 274 comments when I last looked, mostly about other knitters’ preferences concerning charts v words. It’s heartening to know that many people do favour charts – it’s just a need for perseverance on my part.

Of course, a real Viking woollen sock, such as the one found in York, used a very different technique to knitting with sticks; variously called nålebinding, Naalbinding or nadelbinden.

3 comments on “Cable knitting

  1. Heather says:

    I can’t read a chart either. It’s something that I am determined to learn though. It would be more helpful if more designers put both words & a chart in their patterns. Then at least I have something to translate it to.

  2. saesferd says:

    Thank you for your comment, Heather. I’m not the only non-chart reader,then! I certainly agree that words and charts combined would be a help to chart novices, like myself.

  3. saesferd says:

    Update: Completed the first sock, part way through the second and getting the hang of chart following.

Leave a Reply

