Latest knitting make

rugged.jpg This was based on a US Navy Iceland sweater pattern from 1942. The basic difference is the thick ribbing pattern.

I’m still deliberating about my next project. I have a knitting pattern for The Charlotte Bronte Shawl, a design based on a shawl from the costume collection in the Bronte Parsonage Museum. The original, black shawl  is assumed to have been worn by Charlotte Bronte. It is made up of a central simply patterned square, then a  wheat-ear pattern edging and finished off with a scalloped border. I’m not sure if I have enough yarn to complete the shawl in one colour. There’s also a nice Aran-weight cable sweater in this week’s Woman’s Weekly and I know I have enough yarn for that…..somewhere.

Also, knitting history from Great War Fiction

Leave a Reply

