Naval History of Britain

clfish01.jpgHaving a penchant for sailing ships and marine archaeology, having sailed the Irish Sea, enjoyed Patrick O’Brian’s books and the film, Master & Commander, I treated myself to The Command of the Ocean: A Naval History of Britain, 1649-1815by N.A.M. Rodger (University of Exeter). Recently, as a birthday present, I was given the companion volume; The Safeguard of the Sea: a Naval History of Britain, 660-1649. Institute of Historical Research review

2 comments on “Naval History of Britain

  1. Your site fascinates me and I’m touched that you have a link to my blog. I was in the U.S.Navy many moons ago and am also fascinated by Naval history as well as other topics you discuss. I always watch the archaeology shows on our history channel. Many of them are from the UK. I also am a graphic artist and enjoyed seeing the woodcut illustrations.

  2. saesferd says:

    Thank you so much for your comment. I’m glad that you like my site. As I’m also a knitter the link to your site came about from looking at other knitting blogs. As yet, I haven’t posted about my knitting – I’m ‘between’ projects. The naval history post attracted an inordinate amount of attention; a large spike on the ‘hits’ graph – obviously a very interesting topic for the blogging community.In the future I propose to bring some colour illustrations of my own into The Attic.

Leave a Reply

